BB OS 6, future of PodTrapper

Anything that isn't a bug or feature request goes here

BB OS 6, future of PodTrapper

New postby JavaDevelop on Wed Jul 28, 2010 1:12 pm

Having seen several pictures of BB OS 6, I notice an integrated "Podcasts" application now on the new OS. With that, what's the future of PodTrapper, now that RIM looks like they are going to be competing directly with you? I understand that only BB devices with 512MB RAM will be able install OS 6, which means PodTrapper will have many legacy years with everything released prior to Bold 9700.

But, looking out 2-5 years from now when all BB devices have the native Podcasts app, what's going to be your plan?

BTW, for those potential customers reading this, I've been using PodTrapper since 2008 and it is my most used 3rd party app on the BB. I've used it on the Storm 9530 and Bold 9000.
JavaDevelop

Re: BB OS 6, future of PodTrapper

New postby marwatk on Wed Jul 28, 2010 5:38 pm

My guess is nothing will really change. From the look of their app (I haven't looked at it extensively), my guess is PodTrapper is still going to have a lot of things going for it. Time will tell, though. If anyone has used it, and knows any places where it excels, I'd love to get PodTrapper back in the lead...

-Marcus
Versatile Monkey
For more/quicker help make sure to check out the user manuals
marwatk
Lead (and only) Monkey

New postby andrewnyc on Fri Aug 06, 2010 10:54 am

I'm sure PodTrapper will continue to be the premier podcast app for BlackBerry. (just like people still use 3rd party Twitter apps, and 3rd party IM apps) RIM usually leaves something to be desired when they develop an application.
T-Mobile G2x
running Android 2.3.7 (CM7 Nightly)
PodTrapper v3.0.20
andrewnyc

New postby galavanter on Wed Aug 11, 2010 2:58 pm