Newbie questions - please help...

Go here if you're having an issue with Podtrapper.

Newbie questions - please help...

New postby EliezerB on Tue May 10, 2011 1:20 pm

I'm new to PodTrapper, love it, and have "a few" questions:

1) When I connect my BB to my PC via USB, it seems like it completely confuses both PodTrapper and the entire BB, as well. It cannot find the media card at all afterwards. This never happened before I installed PodTrapper. I used to regularly access the files on my media card via USB - but now I basically need to restart my phone each time after unplugging it from the PC.

2) I would like to occasionally be able to copy podcasts that I downloaded with PodTrapper onto my PC for more long-term retention. Is there an easy way to figure out which files are which podcasts when looking at them via a PC? I do see the filenames from within PodTrapper - but it's all unintelligible ("PE_1.mp3.dat" or something like that) when I'm looking at it on my PC. (Having PodTrapper name them with obvious names and the file properties would certainly help this.)

3) Is it possible to have PodTrapper save all my "60 Minutes" podcasts to a folder called "60 Minutes" and all my "This American Life" podcasts be saved to a folder called "This American Life"?

4) Why are the files saved as ".mp3.dat"? If I remove the ".dat" after I copy it onto my PC - is it just a regular MP3 file?

5) If I were to switch my phone from a BB to an Android and wanted to use PodTrapper on the Android, would backing-up my settings on the BB and restoring them onto the Android work if I follow your instructions? Where are the settings backed-up to, anyway?